Category Archives: Gluten Free Diet Mistakes

What is Gluten?

Gluten, what is it exactly? For food labeling purposes, the FDA currently defines gluten as the protein that naturally occurs in wheat, barley, rye. Unfortunately, this definition is not entirely accurate… In short, gluten is a mixture of proteins found in ALL grains. It is the family of storage proteins found in the seeds of grass that […]

Is Buckwheat Gluten Free?

Is Buckwheat Gluten Free? When adopting a gluten free diet, it is common for patients to turn to a quick Internet search to determine what foods are gluten free. A quick glance may suggest that many alternative grains (or similar products) are gluten free. One common example is buckwheat. But there’s more to the story. […]

A Guide for Gluten Free Cereal

Gluten Free Cereal Cereal is a breakfast staple, but if you are living a gluten free lifestyle, cereal might be quite literally off the table! There are quite a few gluten free cereals available, but the vast majority are not recommended or for a number of reasons: They taste terrible. They have unhealthy ingredients you […]

Gluten Free Beer

Gluten Free Beer Traditional beer is made from water, yeast, hops, and wheat, rye, or barley. Obviously, the inclusion of these gluten-containing grains mean that traditional beer contains gluten. As gluten-free diets are on the rise, the demand for a gluten-free option to traditional beer is high. Of course, manufacturers have been quick to respond […]

4 Gluten Free Diet Myths

Gluten Free Diet Myths Gluten free diets have grown in popularity over the years. But with the added attention, comes plenty of misinformation. I want to address some of the common misconceptions and myths surrounding a gluten-free diet to help you sort through the noise so you can make educated and informed decisions.   Myth […]