This topic contains 9 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by Shawna Mercredi momof4bdba 7 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #7910
    Jenny McMillian
    Jenny
    Member

    I'm wondering if anyone can recommend a true gluten free vanilla extract?  Even the “healthier” organic brands are derived from grain alcohol.  Are there any safe store bought brands?  I will probably end up making my own with vodka (potato based) and vanilla beans.  However, that takes about 2 months to be fully ready to use.  I would love one I can buy when needed.

     

    Thanks!

     

    #8909
    Jacqueline Scarbrough
    Jackie Scarbrough
    Participant

    I use Olive Nation pure vanilla extract, it is gluten free and alcohol free.  I get it on amazon, hope this helps and will work for you.

    #8911

    We are in the process of making our own vanilla extract with vodka and vanilla beans.  It will be finished brewing on February 12!!  

    #9150
    Cara Hacking
    Cara Hacking
    Participant

    I checked out the Olive Nation, and it has glycerin (not sure if from corn or not), but also sugar. I react badly to sugar.

    I made some vanilla from vodka and vanilla beans. After just two weeks it was just fine to use. It smells and tastes great. You do have to be careful about the vodka, though–a lot is made from grain.

    #9152
    Jacqueline Scarbrough
    Jackie Scarbrough
    Participant

    When double-checking on this, I also noticed that for the Olive Nation brand vanilla online they list “glycerin”, but none that I have received list glycerin on the label….so I'm thinking their must be different formulations.  I had emailed the company quite awhile back asking about this inconsistency along with questioning if the product contained anything derived from corn or sugar (for my son).  They just replied that the product did contain sugar in the sucrose and caramel color, but that it contains nothing derived from corn.  A small amount of sugar isn't an issue for me personally, but I know it can be for some especially with candida so…..  

    With all this ambiguity and uncertainty, does anyone else have a vanilla extract they can suggest (other than making your own)?

    Still, as with anything, I'm sure making your own is a great way to go whenever possible. 

    #9623
    Sarah Beaton
    Sarah
    Member

    I use Frontier Alcohol Free but it has glycerin as well, not sure what it is derived from, will have to check…

    #9645
    Elaine L
    Elaine L
    Member

    My practitioner checked on this and received an email from Frontier stating, “Yes, our vanilla flavor is gluten & corn free.

    The ingredients are vegetable glycerin which is derived from palm kernel oil and vanilla bean extractives in water.”

    I hope this helps.

    #9650

    You know, you could just use ground up vanilla beans.   That is what I use for virtually everything.   It is expensive and your recipes will have all the little brown flecks in them, but I don't care about that.  I get mine from the Natural News store.Laugh

    #9655
    Rita Bray
    Rita Bray
    Participant

    Most vodkas are made from grain, right? 

     

    I love the idea of the crushed vanilla beans.  How do you crush them?  How do you store them?  Where do you purchase your vanilla beans?

    #9759
    Shawna Mercredi
    momof4bdba
    Participant

    I get my vanilla beans from nuts.com. They are large and plentiful for the price, and very good as well. I just love that store. Everything is so fresh.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.