Home of Gluten-Free Society Forums Welcome New Members! – Please Introduce Yourself Questions re: sugar-free coffee syrups, raw wheat-germ, soy nut butter (unsweetened)

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #8413
    Marisa KallmanMAK
    Member

    I’m new to this site and have not eaten refined carbohydrates/grains/sugar/alcohol for 13 years. I follow a food-plan from a 12-step program for compulsive overeaters which consists of proteins, vegetables, fruit and fat. Sugar of any kind needs to be listed 5th or below on the list of ingredient. Have been diagnosed w/ several health issues including ADHD, IBS, thyroid and hormonal imbalances. After being tested by my naturopath (saliva test), one of the results showed gluten intolerance (evidenced by presence of antibodies) that was “off the charts”. It was as if the test result was from a person who consumed massive amounts i.e. cake, pastries, etc. daily. How can this be? The only “grain” on my food plan is wheatgerm which I eat anywhere’s from an 1/8 to 1/2 cup in a day. Do any of the above items contain gluten and/or produce symptoms associated w/ gluten intolerance/celiac disease? Either consumed separately or combined.

    Thank you in advance for any information!

    Marisa

    #10158

    Nearly everything processed has gluten. It is found in wheat, barley, and corn for example. If you are having processed food (even gluten free) it likely has gluten from grain.

    Since I have Celiac Disease (Problems with gluten) I avoid wheat completely. My supplement, that had wheat germ, transferred to the garden compost pile! I just remembered that the germ contains most of the nutrients. HMM Yeah, I just checked, the wheat germ has the wheat protein. The protein has the gluten! Don’t dispair, though there are other things to eat and make yummy muffins from. I use almond flour.

    Soy gives a reaction as wheat does to many gluten sensitive persons. I talk with them over the internet. I had no soy in my diet, so my experience is second hand.

    As for coffee syrups you could read the label. On this sight is a list of ingredients to avoid. Well, I couldn’t find it. It is too long to print here. I did find a list of grains to avoid in the recipe section. Sometimes the lable doesn’t say wheat or gluten, but sometimes it says “barley malt.” It can be kind of tricky until you know them all. I usually pick out items that are individual ingredients and mix them myself. I will come back later if I get the chance.

    If you care to list the ingredients in something I could look it up.

    Diana

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.