Is wine really safe?

Forum Posts: 3

Member Since:
August 2013, 7

Hello, I'm a nutrition educator and I found out that I am a Celiac about six months ago.  My life and health has improved dramatically now that I am certified gluten free, at least I hope that I am.

 

I just watched the video for gluten-free alcohol however it causes me some concern.  In my research I found articles explaining that wine that has been aged in barrels is very likely contaminated with gluten either because of a grain alcohol was fermented in there prior to the wine, or because of a glutinous flour used to seal the barrels.  This “glue” is especially common in older barrels.  I would like to hear the GFS response to this.

I have also read studies where supposed gluten-free alcohols were tested for gluten and there were found traces of gluten in almost all of them, probably due to cross contamination.  Many alcohol producers produce more than one type of alcohol on shared equipment.

Lastly, I understand from my studies that a “silver” tequila is one of the safest to imbibe because it is made from the agave plant and is typically manufactured in its own facility.  The reposado or aged tequila's however are aged in a barrel and may share the same cross contamination issue by way of the glue used to seal the barrel.

Forum Posts: 3

Member Since:
August 2013, 7

Primo Health Coach said:

  In my research I found articles explaining that wine that has been aged in barrels is very likely contaminated with gluten either because of a grain alcohol was fermented in there prior to the wine, or because of a glutinous flour used to seal the barrels.  This “glue” is especially common in older barrels.  I would like to hear the GFS response to this.

 

Primo,

You are correct in that some manufacturers may use this flour based glue to seal the top of the barrel.  Cross contamination is always a concern regardless of the food or beverage.  However; not all wine manufacturers go through this process.  I would recommend that you call the particular wine maker and inquire as to their practices on this issue.  Additionally, you can use an Elisa test strip to identify gluten in wines that you enjoy drinking (see link below)

http://www.elisa-tek.com/

Thanks for your input!Smile

Forum Posts: 3

Member Since:
August 2013, 7

I clicked on the link for these test strips and I wasn't sure exactly what they test for. Do they test for all grains? How do you use them.?

Forum Posts: 3

Member Since:
August 2013, 7

They test for gliadin found in wheat.  Fortunately, the only grain paste used to cask wine barrels is derived from wheat.

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.