This topic contains 5 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Anthony Rao Anthony Rao 7 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #8334
    Tracy Fenton
    Tracy Fenton
    Member

    Hemp seeds and hemp protein is very popular here. I can’t seem to discern whether hemp is a grain or not. Would appreciate knowing whether hemp products are safe on a grain free diet. Thank you.

    #9978

    Hemp is a variety of the cannabis grown for fiber and seeds. It is a grain but considered to be gluten free. I, therefore, would not eat it if I wanted to be grain free.

    #9979
    Tracy Fenton
    Tracy Fenton
    Member

    Thank you very much Doris

    #9980
    Jacqueline Scarbrough
    Jackie Scarbrough
    Participant

    I didn’t think hemp was a grain, but rather a seed. ??

    #9989
    Kevin Baker
    Kevin Baker
    Member

    @Doris Clendennen said:

    Hemp is a variety of the cannabis grown for fiber and seeds. It is a grain but considered to be gluten free. I, therefore, would not eat it if I wanted to be grain free.

    Doris, can you provide an info source for your answer? I have done a little reading on the internet and no one is saying that hemp is a grain. According to the sources I’ve read, it is an herb.

    #10084
    Anthony Rao
    Anthony Rao
    Member

    Hemp seeds are well…. seeds. Whether or not they have an ingredient that mimics gluten, I really don’t know. I do know that hemp seeds are wonderfully healthy seeds to consume. Hemp oil has a great omega 3 to omega 6 ratio.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.