Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
  • #7873

    I happened upon a box of Quinoa spaghetti noodles and in looking at the ingredients is says whole wheat durum flour and quinoa flour.  Is durum a grain with gluten?


    got this online when i googled it, i would say it was out.


    Durum wheat or macaroni wheat (also spelled Durhum;[1]Triticum durum or Triticum turgidum durum[2]) is the only tetraploid species of wheat of commercial importance that is widely cultivated today.[citation needed] It was developed by artificial selection of the domesticated emmer wheat strains formerly grown in Central Europe and Near East around 7000 B.C., which developed a naked, free-threshing form.[3] Durum in Latin means “hard”, and the species is the hardest of all wheats. Its high protein and gluten content, as well as its strength, make durum good for special uses.[4]

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.