I have a question regarding black rice (aka forbidden rice, aka Emperor's rice). Is it gluten-free? Some websites say that it is the only non-glutenous rice, however, other say that because it belongs to the family of rice plants, therefore it has gluten and should not be consumed by people who follow true glute-free diet.
I would also like to get a definitive answer on Wild Rice vs Forbidden Rice. Both are black and I am certain that Wild Rice is in the grass family. Forbidden Rice, on the other hand, cooks like rice but tastes and looks considerably different, which makes me believe it is not a typical rice in the grain family. Dr. Osborne, do you have a recommendation? Thanks!
Thanks, Dr. O. Somewhere along the way I got confused and have eaten it on various occasions. Funny, I ate more than usual this past week and wondered why I had a headache for three days and stomach discomfort.