#8708
Peter OsbornePeter Osborne
Keymaster

Primo Health Coach said:

  In my research I found articles explaining that wine that has been aged in barrels is very likely contaminated with gluten either because of a grain alcohol was fermented in there prior to the wine, or because of a glutinous flour used to seal the barrels.  This “glue” is especially common in older barrels.  I would like to hear the GFS response to this.

 

Primo,

You are correct in that some manufacturers may use this flour based glue to seal the top of the barrel.  Cross contamination is always a concern regardless of the food or beverage.  However; not all wine manufacturers go through this process.  I would recommend that you call the particular wine maker and inquire as to their practices on this issue.  Additionally, you can use an Elisa test strip to identify gluten in wines that you enjoy drinking (see link below)

http://www.elisa-tek.com/

Thanks for your input!Smile